twenty-five facts about me

facts about me as a human being.

  1. I adore young children with all of my heart. They are so full of life, so precious, curious, and free. I love how wild they can be, the freedom they possess to be themselves. I think that they teach me more than I teach them. I fall in love with every baby I meet and I love to play peek-a-boo and make silly faces with them. It is so easy for me to see God in little children, and it is so easy for me to know God’s heart for his children when I see little children running around wild and free.
  2. I am a certified Montessori pre-school/kindergarten (3-6) teacher.
  3. I have a dual Bachelor of Arts degree in Psychology & Philosophy. I have completed coursework towards a Masters of Science in Mental Health Counseling.
  4. I love books. I am definitely a bibliophile. I read more than is socially acceptable.
  5. I am an old soul.
  6. I am an INFP / INTP hybrid.
  7. I am a Pisces-Aries cusp.
  8. I am of the Melancholic type (4 Temperaments Test).
  9. I was sorted into Ravenclaw.
  10. Enneagram Type 4 [Individualist], Wing 5 [Investigator].
  11. Alignment: Neutral Good.
  12. I developed ED behaviours and started self-harming at 8 years old.
  13. I have been diagnosed with EDNOS (atypical anorexia; binge-purge subtypes), Major Depressive Disorder, Dysthymia/Cyclothymia, Borderline Personality Disorder (quiet type), Complex Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder, and Obsessive Compulsive Personality Disorder. Currently I am diagnosed with CPTSD, Major Depression, and EDNOS.
  14. I love writing. I love the art of expressing myself, my surroundings, and my life with words. I love how writing allows me to connect with God, with others, and with the Universe. I love when I my writing makes people think, smile, understand, and grow.
  15. I want to publish my writing someday.
  16. I love to figure things out. I love stumbling upon a hypothesis and mulling it over until I can understand it and develop it. I have fun trying to figure out how different things work and understanding the ins-and-outs of various things.
  17. My dream is to help people (and animals). I’m not sure what that looks like specifically but I know I was designed with the gifts of encouragement, mercy, words of knowledge, and writing.
  18. I don’t really like coffee, but I am mildly obsessed with tea. I mostly drink tea and water.
  19. I am on a journey of unlearning — unlearning instant gratification, unlearning the lies that led me down a path of self-destruction and self-hatred, unlearning the selfish all-about-me ways of the world in favour of self-discipline and humility, unlearning what the adult world taught me so I can live once again through the lens of childlike faith and experience.
  20. I enjoy time spent by myself. In reality I am quite shy. I am a people-pleaser, deeply afraid of other people disliking me or thinking me stupid or strange.
  21. I have loved Aristotle’s definition of friendship since I first heard it (that there are three tier’s of friendship — friend of utility, convenience, and true friends, true friends being best described as those people with whom you can be apart from for years and meet again and it is like you were never apart, with whom you can talk about anything with). There are only a few people who fit into the category of true friends and those are friends for life. The true friends I have I cherish with all my heart. Two such people in my life both happen to have names that start with ‘N.’
  22. I have friends in several parts of the world and I love them so dearly. It hurts my heart that we are separated by such great distance.
  23. I have a truly amazing church and church family. To have found a church that is truly gospel-centred, deeply compassionate towards all people, so counseling based, and that is filled with people who are open, accepting, and always ready to extend love and grace is such a tremendous blessing.
  24. I really do want only to love people, to help them grow and see them flourish. I want to live a simple life, loving and learning, reading and making art, and always growing.
  25. I am ultimately a child of God. This is the bedrock of my identity. I stand on the foundation of Christ and I am learning more and more just what that means. I am working on rebuilding a fractured faith — to once again be as a child filled with wonder in the presence of her God.
Leave a Reply

